WELCOME TO Gulf Shores

GulfShoresAlBeachJuly08B_altered

Living in Gulf Shores AL

One of the many coastal communities along Mobile Bay is Gulf Shores, Alabama. Some of the major draws to this area include tourism, fishing, the beach, and golf. Other main attractions include Waterville, USA, Alabama’s only amusement/water park. The area is no slacker when it comes to golf either, boasting 9 courses, including Robert Trent Jones courses.

The Gulf Coast Zoo, located in Gulf Shores, even has had national attention and was featured on Animal Planets hit show, The Little Zoo that Could. Shopping in Gulf Shores is no exception, with the Pelican Place at Craft Farms offering something for everyone.

Unfortunately for most of the gulf coast, the BP oil spill in 2010 did have a negative effect on the tourism of the area. After a hard year of working and cleaning, though, the area is almost 100% back to normal, and numbers a year later indicate that the area is coming back strong, with numbers matching and exceeding pre-oil spill levels.

Gulf Shore’s location on Mobile Bay and the Gulf of Mexico leaves it open for hurricanes from June through the end of November, although they hit few and far in-between. Some of the larger hurricanes to affect the area include Hurricane Fredric in 1979, and Ivan (2004), and Katrina in 2005. Because of Gulf Shores’ close proximity to the water, the town enjoys relatively cooler weather than its inshore brethren, mainly due to winds coming off the gulf.

On average, Gulf Shores experiences about 275 days of sunshine, and temperatures average about 77 in the summer and 57 in the winter. Rainfall is usually about 68 inches each year.

Highlights

  • Explore 32 miles of sandy white beaches
  • View beautiful wildlife on the ocean with dolphin cruises or visit the zoo to see over 300 different animals
  • Eat the freshest seafood on the Gulf at family-friendly eateries
  • Take on outdoor recreation on the zip line or riding in the wave pool

Gulf Shores AL Restaurants

Link to Lulu’s: http://www.lulubuffett.com/
Link to Florabama: http://www.florabama.com/
Link to Cobalt: http://www.cobaltrestaurant.net/
Link to Tacky Jacks: http://www.tackyjacks.com/locations/gulf-shores-al
Link to Shrimp Basket: http://www.shrimpbasket.com/

Gulf Shores AL Attractions

Link to The Track: http://www.gulfshorestrack.com/
Link to Gulf Shores and Orange Beach: http://www.gulfshores.com/
Link to The Hangout: http://www.thehangoutal.com/
Link to Waterville USA: http://www.watervilleusa.com/
Link to Pirates Cove Mini Golf: http://www.piratescove.net/

Shopping in Gulf Shores AL

Link to Pelican Place at Craft Farms: http://www.langleyproperty.com/pelican-place
Link to Tanger Outlet Mall: http://www.tangeroutlet.com/foley/

Contact us if you have any questions about Gulf Shores!